How to Enter the LLEAP Awards 2018

The Leap Awards recognize innovative equipment, support products, and services introduced during the previous 12 months.

The 2018 LLEAP Awards will recognize products that have been introduced into the North American market between June 1, 2017, and May 31, 2018, and are currently available for purchase in North America.

Eligible products and services:

  • Brand new models or services
  • Products or services that existed in other markets but are new to North America
  • Existing products or services that have been redesigned or modified extensively and re-introduced

LLEAP Entry Categories:

  • Aerial lifts: Self-propelled boom lifts; manually or self-propelled scissor, mast, or other vertical lifts; specialty lifts, and trailer-or truck-mounted aerial lifts
  • Material handlers: Rough-terrain vertical-mast forklifts and telescopic-boom handlers
  • Cranes (new this year - no capacity limit): Rough-terrain, all-terrain, crawler-mounted, and truck-mounted telescopic-boom cranes; lattice-boom crawler and truck cranes; boom trucks; mobile industrial cranes; and self-erecting cranes
  • OEM-Developed Features/Essential Components for OEMs: Features developed by an OEM for a new or existing aerial work platform, material handler, or crane, or supplier-developed components and systems that are integral to an OEM’s design
  • Aftermarket Support Products or Services: Products and services developed and sold specifically for equipment users


The LLEAP judging panel is made up of industry experts involved in the operation, rental, sale, and servicing of aerial platforms and lifting equipment. In evaluating each entry, the judges will look for innovative features and technology; perceived value; productivity for owners and users; and overall benefit to the industry, owners, and users.

In each of the five product categories, the top-scoring entry will receive a Gold Award, and the second-highest-scoring entry will receive a Silver Award.

The Gold and Silver Award winners will be recognized in the November-December 2018 issue of Lift and Access magazine and will receive a glass trophy. In addition, all LLEAP Award finalist products will be listed in Lift and Access.

Past winners include: Terex AWP/Genie, JLG, JCB, Manitou, IPAF, Liebherr, Haulotte, Tadano Mantis, MEC, Bailey Specialty Cranes & Aerials, Crosby, OEM Data Delivery, Bibi, Caldwell Group, Terex Cranes, Magni, Manitowoc Cranes, Vicario, and Navis.

How to Enter

Enter your product(s) and service(s) in the 2018 LLEAP Awards competition using the online form. The first entry from each company will cost $475, and each additional entry will be $275


Submission Materials

  • A high-resolution (300 dpi) photo or diagram of the product
  • A high-resolution (300 dpi) photo or a scalable art file of your company logo
  • A description (up to 600 words) of the product, its features, and its capabilities. Include the model name; the product’s list price when it was introduced; any important specifications, such as capacity, platform or hook height; key features; and highlights of how it is different from other products on the market. Be sure to address the key criteria listed above (innovation, perceived value, productivity, and overall value), as well as any unique features.
  • Optional but recommended: Product literature, videos, or visual aids that would help judges understand your product.

Submit your entries by June 15, 2018.

If you have questions about the content, contact Lift and Access editor Karen Scally at  248-491-7477

For help with the online entry system, contact associate publisher, Franci Motz at or 602-445-3932.